Alexandra Graving Dock
The Alexandra Graving Dock was built between 1885 and 1889 following a petition which was presented to the Harbour Commissioners in 1881 by Harland and Wolff, for additional fitting out facilities. In 1885, Princess Alexandra cut the first sod and gave her name to the new dock.
Alexandra Dock is occupied by HMS Caroline, built in Birkenhead in 1914. She was the lead ship of a class of six light cruisers and is believed to be the only survivor of the infamous Battle of Jutland in 1916. She came to Belfast in 1924 to serve as the headquarters of what is now the Royal Navy Reserve, and was converted at Harland and Wolff for this purpose. Still retaining many of her original features, she is now on the National Historic Ships Register.
HMS Caroline has undergone extensive restoration. Visitors can discover a range of historic spaces including the Captain Crookes Cabin, Royal Marines Mess and Seamen's Wash as well as the very important engine room, sick bay and galley kitchen. Visitors can explore the importance of the Battle of Jutland and discover what life was like at sea for over three hundred crew who served on board. *HMS Caroline is closed for refurbishment and will reopen in 2017.