Please note, due to increased COVID-19 restrictions this event may be cancelled or postponed; or its venue may be temporarily closed to the public. Check with the event organiser or venue for most up-to-date information.

Description

This exhibition is a celebration, the first chance to see six etchings by the famed Dutch artist Rembrandt Harmenszoon van Rijn since they were gifted to the Ulster Museum, thanks to the acceptance in lieu of tax scheme.

Though many of his paintings are associated with the dramatic and awe inspiring style of Baroque painting, Rembrandt’s etchings communicate a unique silence that is often found in the Golden Age of Dutch art; the still of nature, the intimacy of the human face and thoughtful biblical scenes.

Rembrandt’s lack of fear in experimenting with etching led him to develop a new style and to push the limits of the technique, cementing him as a printmaker who inspired the generations that followed. The accompanying works in this exhibition are from the wider Ulster Museum print collection. They welcome Rembrandt, through showing how the medium has evolved and yet still reflects his innovative work.

Use SmARTify to discover more stories behind each artwork. Download the app and point your device’s camera at any print in the exhibition to find out more.

Thu, 22 Oct 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 23 Oct 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 24 Oct 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 25 Oct 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 27 Oct 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 28 Oct 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 29 Oct 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 30 Oct 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 31 Oct 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 01 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 03 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 04 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 05 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 06 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 07 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 08 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 10 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 11 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 12 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 13 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 14 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 15 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 17 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 18 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 19 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 20 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 21 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 22 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 23 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 24 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 25 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 26 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 28 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 29 Nov 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 01 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 02 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 03 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 04 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 05 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 06 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 08 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 09 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 10 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 11 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 12 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 13 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 15 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 16 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 17 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 18 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 19 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 20 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 22 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 23 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 27 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 29 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 30 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 31 Dec 2020 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 02 Jan 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 03 Jan 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 05 Jan 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 06 Jan 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 07 Jan 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 08 Jan 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 09 Jan 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 10 Jan 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 12 Jan 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 13 Jan 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 14 Jan 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 15 Jan 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 16 Jan 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 17 Jan 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm

Ulster Museum

  • Botanic Gardens
  • Belfast
  • Antrim
  • BT9 5AB

Find Out More
Ulster Museum5

Upcoming events at Ulster Museum

Left, Right & Centre – Temporarily Closed
Left, Right & Centre – Temporarily Closed
Art and Exhibitions

Left, Right & Centre – Temporarily Closed

1.73KM
22 Oct 2020 - 17 Jan 2021

Left Right & Centre is a film by Cornelia Parker, one of the most outstanding artists of her…

Find Out More
A Unique Silence – Temporarily Closed
A Unique Silence – Temporarily Closed
Art and Exhibitions

A Unique Silence – Temporarily Closed

1.73KM
22 Oct 2020 - 17 Jan 2021

This exhibition is a celebration, the first chance to see six etchings by the famed Dutch artist Rembrandt…

Find Out More

You might also like

  • Left, Right & Centre – Temporarily Closed
    Left, Right & Centre – Temporarily Closed
    Art and Exhibitions

    Left, Right & Centre – Temporarily Closed

    1.73KM
    22 Oct 2020 - 17 Jan 2021

    Left Right & Centre is a film by Cornelia Parker, one of the most outstanding artists of her…

    Find Out More
  • New Works by Jackie Crooks
    New Works by Jackie Crooks
    Art and Exhibitions

    New Works by Jackie Crooks

    4.58KM
    22 - 31 Oct 2020

    New art created over lockdown by the renowned painter and print maker.

    Find Out More
  • Level 3: Street Photography
    Level 3: Street Photography
    Learning Experiences

    Level 3: Street Photography

    0.6KM
    Sat, 24 Oct 2020, 10:00am

    This practical, hands-on course is designed for intermediates, and those who have completed or are already familiar with…

    Find Out More
  • Pinned
    Pinned
    Art and Exhibitions

    Pinned

    0.72KM
    04 Nov 2020 - 02 Jan 2021

    Craft NI is delighted to host the first group exhibition from the Association for Contemporary Jewellers and Silversmiths…

    Find Out More
  • Masterclass: Cathal McNaughton
    Masterclass: Cathal McNaughton
    Learning Experiences

    Masterclass: Cathal McNaughton

    0.6KM
    Sat, 07 Nov 2020, 9:00am

    This masterclass is a unique workshop combining real world assignments alongside professional instruction in technical and conceptual issues…

    Find Out More
  • Level 3: Studio Photography
    Level 3: Studio Photography
    Learning Experiences

    Level 3: Studio Photography

    0.6KM
    14 - 28 Nov 2020

    This practical, hands-on course is designed for intermediates, and those who have completed or are already familiar with…

    Find Out More
  • Level 1: Introduction To Your Digital Camera
    Level 1: Introduction To Your Digital Camera
    Learning Experiences

    Level 1: Introduction To Your Digital Camera

    0.6KM
    14 - 21 Nov 2020

    This practical, hands-on course is designed both for beginners and those wishing to refresh previous knowledge.

    Find Out More
  • Level 2: Printing Your Negatives
    Level 2: Printing Your Negatives
    Learning Experiences

    Level 2: Printing Your Negatives

    0.6KM
    17 - 24 Nov 2020

    Learn how to get the best out of your previously taken black and white negatives in a hands-on…

    Find Out More
  • Photoshop Basics
    Photoshop Basics
    Learning Experiences

    Photoshop Basics

    0.6KM
    Sat, 28 Nov 2020, 10:00am

    This technical course is aimed at beginners to Photoshop and those wishing to refresh previous knowledge.

    Find Out More
  • Level 3: Documentary Photography
    Level 3: Documentary Photography
    Learning Experiences

    Level 3: Documentary Photography

    0.6KM
    05 - 19 Dec 2020

    The course offers contextual knowledge together with the technical skills and project planning skills. The course will cover…

    Find Out More
Ask Us
Ask Us

We're here to help, so if you can't find the info you're after, or you just want to ask a really odd question, then we're here for you.

Ask A Question

Ask a Question

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Start
Choose a date
End
Choose a date
Back To Top
In order to display distances relevant to you, we'd like to be able to use your GPS location. Privacy Policy
In order to display distances relevant to your current position, we'd need to be able to use your GPS location. To find out more about how we use your location, please read our Privacy Policy
You have previously denied access to your GPS location. In order to allow access to your location, you need to update your site settings through your browser settings to allow this site access to your location.

To find out more about how we use your location, please read our Privacy Policy
Your settings have been updated. They will take effect next time you refresh the page.
By default, all distances on the site are calculated from Belfast City Centre. You can choose a different starting point here, or specify your own.
Open 'Ask a Question' window Close 'Ask a Question' window

Ask a Question

X

Hide this tool

Open 'Sign up for Newsletter' window Close 'Sign up for Newsletter' window

Visit Belfast Newsletter

X

Sign up to the Visit Belfast newsletter and receive inspiring ideas, events and offers which showcase the best of Belfast and Northern Ireland.

Sign-Up

Hide this tool