Please note, with restrictions currently in place this event may be cancelled or postponed; or its venue may be temporarily closed to the public. Check with the event organiser or venue for most up-to-date information.

Description

Golden Thread Gallery is premiering the installation of Suzanne Lacy’s Across and In-Between in the summer of 2021, presented in association with IWM Imperial War Museum, The Whitworth and Ulster University.

Co-commissioned and presented as a work-in-progress for the closing season of 14-18 NOW and the Belfast International Arts Festival; the project amplified the voices and experiences of border residents during Brexit negotiations through words, imagery, sound and performance, providing them an opportunity to reclaim the landscape around them.

Gallery Director Peter Richards says: “We’re thrilled to be sharing an opportunity to see Suzanne Lacy’s Across and In-Between in Belfast at this historic moment in time. Special thanks go to Cian Smyth who collaborated on the project, and who has made this possible for us.”

The exhibition to be shown at the Golden Thread Gallery was originally created in collaboration with artists and communities in Ireland from both sides of the border, almost 100 years since the partition of Ireland. Across and In–Between explored the profound impact the border has on the lives of people living there during a time of intense international focus around Brexit. The project created a mass response by over 300 border residents interrogating a line on a landscape with a collective, metaphorical act of 'drawing and erasing.'

Across and In-Between is shown across the entirety of The Golden Thread Gallery. The installation consists of: Border People’s Parliament; a series of portraits, a soundscape and The Yellow Manifesto in Gallery One; The Yellow Line; a three-screen video projection shown in Gallery Two; and additional photos alongside a 29’ documentary film, Across and In-Between: Voices from the Border in Ireland, shown in the Project Space.

This event is FREE. Read more about the exhibition here >>

For more information about Golden Thread Gallery visit goldenthreadgallery.co.uk.

Sat, 12 Jun 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 13 Jun 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 14 Jun 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 15 Jun 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 16 Jun 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 17 Jun 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 18 Jun 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 19 Jun 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 20 Jun 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 21 Jun 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 22 Jun 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 23 Jun 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 24 Jun 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 25 Jun 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 26 Jun 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 27 Jun 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 28 Jun 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 29 Jun 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 30 Jun 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 01 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 02 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 03 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 04 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 05 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 06 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 07 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 08 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 09 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 10 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 11 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 12 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 13 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 14 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 15 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 16 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 17 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 18 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 19 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 20 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 21 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 22 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 23 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 24 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 25 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 26 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 27 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 28 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 29 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 30 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 31 Jul 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 01 Aug 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 02 Aug 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 03 Aug 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 04 Aug 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 05 Aug 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 06 Aug 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 07 Aug 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 08 Aug 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 09 Aug 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 10 Aug 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 11 Aug 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 12 Aug 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 13 Aug 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 14 Aug 2021 11:00am - 5:00pm

Golden Thread Gallery

  • 84-94 Great Patrick Street
  • Belfast
  • Antrim
  • BT1 2LU

Find Out More
Golden Thread Gallery

Upcoming events at Golden Thread Gallery

Across and In-Between by Suzanne Lacy
Across and In-Between by Suzanne Lacy
Art and Exhibitions

Across and In-Between by Suzanne Lacy

0.97 KM
12 Jun - 14 Aug 2021

Golden Thread Gallery is premiering the installation of Suzanne Lacy’s Across and In-Between this summer, presented in association…

Find Out More

You might also like

  • Belfast Photo Festival 2021
    Belfast Photo Festival 2021
    2021 Highlights

    Belfast Photo Festival 2021

    0.08 KM
    08 - 30 Jun 2021

    Belfast Photo Festival is delighted to announce its 2021 festival edition, Future(s), celebrating some of the finest national…

    Find Out More
  • Collecting the Past / Making the Future. Marking Centenaries 2021
    Collecting the Past / Making the Future. Marking Centenaries 2021
    2021 Highlights

    Collecting the Past / Making the Future. Marking Centenaries 2021

    1.73 KM
    08 Jun - 09 Sep 2021

    Collecting the Past/Making the Future Marking Centenaries 2021 is an exhibition marking the centenaries of the partition of…

    Find Out More
  • La Belle Époque
    La Belle Époque
    Art and Exhibitions

    La Belle Époque

    1.73 KM
    08 Jun - 30 Nov 2021

    An exhibition exploring fashion between the 1870s and 1910s, a relatively peaceful period in Western Europe, often known…

    Find Out More
  • Tides of Life New Work by Margaret Arthur RUA
    Tides of Life New Work by Margaret Arthur RUA
    Art and Exhibitions

    Tides of Life New Work by Margaret Arthur RUA

    4.58 KM
    08 - 26 Jun 2021

    An exhibition by one of Ireland’s most renowned print makers and leading member of the Royal Ulster Academy…

    Find Out More
  • Ambera Wellmann: UnTurning
    Ambera Wellmann: UnTurning
    Art and Exhibitions

    Ambera Wellmann: UnTurning

    0.86 KM
    09 Jun - 08 Aug 2021

    UnTurning is the first exhibition in the UK & Ireland by Canadian-born and New York-based painter Ambera Wellmann.

    Find Out More
  • Maya Balcioglu
    Maya Balcioglu
    Art and Exhibitions

    Maya Balcioglu

    0.86 KM
    09 Jun - 08 Aug 2021

    An exhibition of work by Balcioglu, which is deliberative and intended for consideration or discussion.

    Find Out More
  • Jaap Pieters: The Eye of Amsterdam
    Jaap Pieters: The Eye of Amsterdam
    Art and Exhibitions

    Jaap Pieters: The Eye of Amsterdam

    0.86 KM
    09 Jun - 08 Aug 2021

    Dutch artist Jaap Pieters is a stalwart specialist of Super 8mm filmmaking. His films will be shown on…

    Find Out More
  • Level 3: Studio Photography
    Level 3: Studio Photography
    Learning Experiences

    Level 3: Studio Photography

    0.6 KM
    09 - 23 Jun 2021

    You will gain knowledge of studio lighting setups and techniques to enable you to take quality studio images…

    Find Out More
  • Level 2: Develop Your Photography Skills
    Level 2: Develop Your Photography Skills
    Learning Experiences

    Level 2: Develop Your Photography Skills

    0.6 KM
    Sat, 12 Jun 2021, 10:00am

    You will learn new camera settings and develop your photography skills, focusing on how to use white balance,…

    Find Out More
  • Photoshop Basics
    Photoshop Basics
    Learning Experiences

    Photoshop Basics

    0.6 KM
    Sat, 26 Jun 2021, 10:00am

    The course will introduce you to the Photoshop interface and will cover the basic Photoshop features such as…

    Find Out More
Ask Us
Ask Us

We're here to help, so if you can't find the info you're after, or you just want to ask a really odd question, then we're here for you.

Ask A Question
Start
Choose a date
End
Choose a date
Back To Top
In order to display distances relevant to you, we'd like to be able to use your GPS location. Privacy Policy
In order to display distances relevant to your current position, we'd need to be able to use your GPS location. To find out more about how we use your location, please read our Privacy Policy
You have previously denied access to your GPS location. In order to allow access to your location, you need to update your site settings through your browser settings to allow this site access to your location.

To find out more about how we use your location, please read our Privacy Policy
Your settings have been updated. They will take effect next time you refresh the page.
By default, all distances on the site are calculated from Belfast City Centre. You can choose a different starting point here, or specify your own.

If you select a location more than 15km from the Visit Belfast Welcome Centre, your location will be set to Belfast City Centre.

Open 'Ask a Question' window Close 'Ask a Question' window

Ask a Question

X

Hide this tool

Open 'Sign up for Newsletter' window Close 'Sign up for Newsletter' window

Visit Belfast Newsletter

X

Sign up to the Visit Belfast newsletter and receive inspiring ideas, events and offers which showcase the best of Belfast and Northern Ireland.

Sign-Up

Hide this tool