Description

Hold on Tight is a provocative exhibition of corporeal artworks by four artists working in performance and moving image: Sinéad O’Donnell; Katherine Nolan; Jayne Parker; and Hollie Millar

These four female artists works in response to their bodies, questioning the vulnerability of human flesh through lived and sometimes violent experience.

Curated for the Golden Thread Gallery by Peter Richards and Mary Stevens, Hold On Tight presents the different ways in which these artists use materials and how they can be manipulated by the body. Uncomfortable tensions underpin the exhibition; abject guts and soft slime contrast to ice and hard porcelain. A visceral exploration of moist, slippery and sticky material gives way to a precariously tall pile of plates teetering on the edge of falling over. Both the artistic concept and the nature of the materials merge. Different aspects of control are important, e.g. what can be made to happen? What do we anticipate?  What can we let go?

Performative pieces which take place during the exhibition, leaving traces and ephemera - shattered plates for example – will then become part of the show. The artworks appear to be at sort of precipice, akin to our bodily experience of life. We are waiting for something to happen.

Golden Thread Gallery is a leading contemporary visual art gallery in Belfast. We work to broaden access to and improve public experience of visual art in Northern Ireland, with programmes of high quality that embrace the breadth and variety of contemporary arts practice, and develop, support and promote the work of Northern Irish artists. Our mission statement is “Creating a context, challenging perceptions, promoting creativity, delivering contemporary visual art for all”. Annually we host six major exhibitions in our main galleries and six Project Space exhibitions of emerging local artists; workshops for all ages/abilities, talks and tours, artist mentoring, and community outreach.

Free admission, no booking required.

Tickets & Pricing
Tue, 06 Dec 2022 11:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 07 Dec 2022 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 08 Dec 2022 11:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 09 Dec 2022 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 10 Dec 2022 11:00am - 4:00pm
Tue, 13 Dec 2022 11:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 14 Dec 2022 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 15 Dec 2022 11:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 16 Dec 2022 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 17 Dec 2022 11:00am - 4:00pm
Tue, 20 Dec 2022 11:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 21 Dec 2022 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 22 Dec 2022 11:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 23 Dec 2022 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 24 Dec 2022 11:00am - 4:00pm
Tue, 27 Dec 2022 11:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 28 Dec 2022 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 29 Dec 2022 11:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 30 Dec 2022 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 31 Dec 2022 11:00am - 4:00pm
Tue, 03 Jan 2023 11:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 04 Jan 2023 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 05 Jan 2023 11:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 06 Jan 2023 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 07 Jan 2023 11:00am - 4:00pm
Tue, 10 Jan 2023 11:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 11 Jan 2023 11:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 12 Jan 2023 11:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 13 Jan 2023 11:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 14 Jan 2023 11:00am - 4:00pm

Golden Thread Gallery

  • 84-94 Great Patrick Street
  • Belfast
  • Antrim
  • BT1 2LU

Find Out More
Golden Thread Gallery

Upcoming events at Golden Thread Gallery

Hold on Tight Exhibtion
Hold on Tight Exhibtion
Art and Exhibitions

Hold on Tight Exhibtion

0.97 KM
06 Dec 2022 - 14 Jan 2023

Hold on Tight is a provocative exhibition of corporeal artworks by four artists working in performance and moving…

Find Out More

You might also like

Ask Us
Ask Us

We're here to help, so if you can't find the info you're after, or you just want to ask a really odd question, then we're here for you.

Ask A Question
Start
Choose a date
End
Choose a date
Back To Top
In order to display distances relevant to you, we'd like to be able to use your GPS location. Privacy Policy
In order to display distances relevant to your current position, we'd need to be able to use your GPS location. To find out more about how we use your location, please read our Privacy Policy
You have previously denied access to your GPS location. In order to allow access to your location, you need to update your site settings through your browser settings to allow this site access to your location.

To find out more about how we use your location, please read our Privacy Policy
Your settings have been updated. They will take effect next time you refresh the page.
By default, all distances on the site are calculated from Belfast City Centre. You can choose a different starting point here, or specify your own.

If you select a location more than 15km from the Visit Belfast Welcome Centre, your location will be set to Belfast City Centre.

Open 'Ask a Question' window Close 'Ask a Question' window

Ask a Question

X

Hide this tool

Open 'Sign up for Newsletter' window Close 'Sign up for Newsletter' window

Visit Belfast Newsletter

X

Sign up to the Visit Belfast newsletter and receive inspiring ideas, events and offers which showcase the best of Belfast and Northern Ireland.

Sign-Up

Hide this tool