Check with the event organiser or venue for most up-to-date information.

Description

An exhibition exploring fashion between the 1870s to the 1910s, a relatively peaceful period in Western Europe is often known as La Belle Époque - “the beautiful era.”

This fabulous fashion exhibition displays some of the most beautiful outfits from Ulster Museum’s permanent collection, including two incredibly significant recent donations on display for the first time: a silk satin wedding dress dating from 1896 and a magnificent and historically important court dress with train from 1911.

During this time the fashionable female figure was subject to more fluctuations than had ever been seen before. The means used to achieve various silhouettes - from crinolines to corsets, bustles to migrating bust lines are all explored here.

This event is FREE but visitors are required to pre-book an arrival time slot. Once at the museum there is no time limit for your visit.

Sun, 12 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 13 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 14 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 15 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 16 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 17 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 18 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 19 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 20 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 21 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 22 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 23 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 24 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 25 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 26 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 27 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 28 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 29 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 30 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 01 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 02 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 03 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 04 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 05 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 06 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 07 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 08 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 09 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 10 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 11 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 12 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 13 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 14 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 15 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 16 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 17 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 18 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 19 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 20 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 21 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 22 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 23 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 24 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 25 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 26 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 27 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 28 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 29 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 30 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 31 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 01 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 02 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 03 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 04 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 05 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 06 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 07 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 08 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 09 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 10 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 11 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 12 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 13 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 14 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 15 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 16 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 17 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 18 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 19 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 20 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 21 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 22 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 23 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 24 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 25 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 26 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 27 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 28 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 29 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 30 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm

Ulster Museum

  • Botanic Gardens
  • Belfast
  • Antrim
  • BT9 5AB

Find Out More
Ulster Museum5

Upcoming events at Ulster Museum

La Belle Époque
La Belle Époque
Art and Exhibitions

La Belle Époque

1.73 KM
12 Sep - 30 Nov 2021

An exhibition exploring fashion between the 1870s and 1910s, a relatively peaceful period in Western Europe, often known…

Find Out More
Willie Doherty Where
Willie Doherty Where
Art and Exhibitions

Willie Doherty Where

1.73 KM
Sun, 12 Sep 2021, 10:00am

a major international exhibition of the work of Willie Doherty, twice Turner Prize nominee and NI’s foremost contemporary…

Find Out More

You might also like

  • Willie Doherty Where
    Willie Doherty Where
    Art and Exhibitions

    Willie Doherty Where

    1.73 KM
    Sun, 12 Sep 2021, 10:00am

    a major international exhibition of the work of Willie Doherty, twice Turner Prize nominee and NI’s foremost contemporary…

    Find Out More
  • European Heritage Open Days 2021 Belfast Cathedral
    European Heritage Open Days 2021 Belfast Cathedral
    Free Events

    European Heritage Open Days 2021 Belfast Cathedral

    Sun, 12 Sep 2021, 12:30pm

    Belfast Cathedral will be open to the public, free of charge from Thursday 9th to Sunday 12th September…

    Find Out More
  • Arrival Exhibition
    Arrival Exhibition
    Art and Exhibitions

    Arrival Exhibition

    0.72 KM
    13 Sep - 07 Oct 2021

    Craft NI are delighted to present ‘ARRIVAL’, an exhibition showing the work of the Ceramics, Jewellery and Silversmithing…

    Find Out More
  • Emerging Artists 2021
    Emerging Artists 2021
    Art and Exhibitions

    Emerging Artists 2021

    4.58 KM
    14 Sep - 02 Oct 2021

    ArtisAnn is proud to feature this year’s class of emerging young talent, displaying work by Leah Davis, Fatima…

    Find Out More
  • A Blanket of Woven Shadows
    A Blanket of Woven Shadows
    Art and Exhibitions

    A Blanket of Woven Shadows

    0.6 KM
    14 Sep - 02 Oct 2021

    Belfast Exposed presents A Blanket of Woven Shadows - a solo photographic exhibition that showcases new photographic works…

    Find Out More
  • Seen As It’s Made = Made As It’s Seen
    Seen As It’s Made = Made As It’s Seen
    Art and Exhibitions

    Seen As It’s Made = Made As It’s Seen

    0.97 KM
    14 - 23 Sep 2021

    Golden Thread Gallery presents Seen as it’s made = Made as it’s seen, a solo exhibition by Lennon…

    Find Out More
  • I’ve Always Liked Slime
    I’ve Always Liked Slime
    Art and Exhibitions

    I’ve Always Liked Slime

    0.6 KM
    14 - 25 Sep 2021

    The second instalment of provocative punk photography magazine ‘Rotten Magazine Vol 2 - I’ve Always Liked Slime’ -…

    Find Out More
  • CNB21 Presents The Ogham Grove
    CNB21 Presents The Ogham Grove
    2021 Highlights

    CNB21 Presents The Ogham Grove

    0.58 KM
    17 - 19 Sep 2021

    Two monumental sculptures will be built in Writers’ Square, with themes drawn from our ancestral heritage and culture…

    Find Out More
  • Belfast International Arts Festival 2021
    Belfast International Arts Festival 2021
    Festivals

    Belfast International Arts Festival 2021

    0.19 KM
    06 Oct - 07 Nov 2021

    Belfast International Arts Festival returns for our 59th edition from 6 October to 7 November with an extensive…

    Find Out More
  • Street Statues, Sculptures & Architecture Walking Tour 2021
    Street Statues, Sculptures & Architecture Walking Tour 2021
    Belfast International Arts Festival

    Street Statues, Sculptures & Architecture Walking Tour 2021

    0.08 KM
    16 - 26 Oct 2021

    Belfast has an abundance of art scattered around the city and this tour will help you understand and…

    Find Out More
Ask Us
Ask Us

We're here to help, so if you can't find the info you're after, or you just want to ask a really odd question, then we're here for you.

Ask A Question
Start
Choose a date
End
Choose a date
Back To Top
In order to display distances relevant to you, we'd like to be able to use your GPS location. Privacy Policy
In order to display distances relevant to your current position, we'd need to be able to use your GPS location. To find out more about how we use your location, please read our Privacy Policy
You have previously denied access to your GPS location. In order to allow access to your location, you need to update your site settings through your browser settings to allow this site access to your location.

To find out more about how we use your location, please read our Privacy Policy
Your settings have been updated. They will take effect next time you refresh the page.
By default, all distances on the site are calculated from Belfast City Centre. You can choose a different starting point here, or specify your own.

If you select a location more than 15km from the Visit Belfast Welcome Centre, your location will be set to Belfast City Centre.

Open 'Ask a Question' window Close 'Ask a Question' window

Ask a Question

X

Hide this tool

Open 'Sign up for Newsletter' window Close 'Sign up for Newsletter' window

Visit Belfast Newsletter

X

Sign up to the Visit Belfast newsletter and receive inspiring ideas, events and offers which showcase the best of Belfast and Northern Ireland.

Sign-Up

Hide this tool