Please note, with restrictions currently in place this event may be cancelled or postponed; or its venue may be temporarily closed to the public. Check with the event organiser or venue for most up-to-date information.

Description

An exhibition exploring fashion between the 1870s to the 1910s, a relatively peaceful period in Western Europe is often known as La Belle Époque - “the beautiful era.”

This fabulous fashion exhibition displays some of the most beautiful outfits from Ulster Museum’s permanent collection, including two incredibly significant recent donations on display for the first time: a silk satin wedding dress dating from 1896 and a magnificent and historically important court dress with train from 1911.

During this time the fashionable female figure was subject to more fluctuations than had ever been seen before. The means used to achieve various silhouettes - from crinolines to corsets, bustles to migrating bust lines are all explored here.

This event is FREE but visitors are required to pre-book an arrival time slot. Once at the museum there is no time limit for your visit.

Tue, 08 Jun 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 09 Jun 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 10 Jun 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 11 Jun 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 12 Jun 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 13 Jun 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 14 Jun 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 15 Jun 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 16 Jun 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 17 Jun 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 18 Jun 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 19 Jun 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 20 Jun 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 21 Jun 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 22 Jun 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 23 Jun 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 24 Jun 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 25 Jun 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 26 Jun 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 27 Jun 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 28 Jun 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 29 Jun 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 30 Jun 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 01 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 02 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 03 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 04 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 05 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 06 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 07 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 08 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 09 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 10 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 11 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 12 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 13 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 14 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 15 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 16 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 17 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 18 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 19 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 20 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 21 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 22 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 23 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 24 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 25 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 26 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 27 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 28 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 29 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 30 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 31 Jul 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 01 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 02 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 03 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 04 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 05 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 06 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 07 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 08 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 09 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 10 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 11 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 12 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 13 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 14 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 15 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 16 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 17 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 18 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 19 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 20 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 21 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 22 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 23 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 24 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 25 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 26 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 27 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 28 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 29 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 30 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 31 Aug 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 01 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 02 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 03 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 04 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 05 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 06 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 07 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 08 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 09 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 10 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 11 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 12 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 13 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 14 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 15 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 16 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 17 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 18 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 19 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 20 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 21 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 22 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 23 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 24 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 25 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 26 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 27 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 28 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 29 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 30 Sep 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 01 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 02 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 03 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 04 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 05 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 06 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 07 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 08 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 09 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 10 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 11 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 12 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 13 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 14 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 15 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 16 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 17 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 18 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 19 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 20 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 21 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 22 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 23 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 24 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 25 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 26 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 27 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 28 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 29 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 30 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 31 Oct 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 01 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 02 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 03 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 04 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 05 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 06 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 07 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 08 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 09 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 10 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 11 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 12 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 13 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 14 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 15 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 16 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 17 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 18 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 19 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 20 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 21 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 22 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 23 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 24 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 25 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 26 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 27 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 28 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Mon, 29 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 30 Nov 2021 10:00am - 5:00pm

Ulster Museum

  • Botanic Gardens
  • Belfast
  • Antrim
  • BT9 5AB

Find Out More
Ulster Museum5

Upcoming events at Ulster Museum

Collecting the Past / Making the Future. Marking Centenaries 2021
Collecting the Past / Making the Future. Marking Centenaries 2021
2021 Highlights

Collecting the Past / Making the Future. Marking Centenaries 2021

1.73 KM
08 Jun - 09 Sep 2021

Collecting the Past/Making the Future Marking Centenaries 2021 is an exhibition marking the centenaries of the partition of…

Find Out More
La Belle Époque
La Belle Époque
Art and Exhibitions

La Belle Époque

1.73 KM
08 Jun - 30 Nov 2021

An exhibition exploring fashion between the 1870s and 1910s, a relatively peaceful period in Western Europe, often known…

Find Out More

You might also like

  • Belfast Photo Festival 2021
    Belfast Photo Festival 2021
    2021 Highlights

    Belfast Photo Festival 2021

    0.08 KM
    08 - 30 Jun 2021

    Belfast Photo Festival is delighted to announce its 2021 festival edition, Future(s), celebrating some of the finest national…

    Find Out More
  • Collecting the Past / Making the Future. Marking Centenaries 2021
    Collecting the Past / Making the Future. Marking Centenaries 2021
    2021 Highlights

    Collecting the Past / Making the Future. Marking Centenaries 2021

    1.73 KM
    08 Jun - 09 Sep 2021

    Collecting the Past/Making the Future Marking Centenaries 2021 is an exhibition marking the centenaries of the partition of…

    Find Out More
  • Tides of Life New Work by Margaret Arthur RUA
    Tides of Life New Work by Margaret Arthur RUA
    Art and Exhibitions

    Tides of Life New Work by Margaret Arthur RUA

    4.58 KM
    08 - 26 Jun 2021

    An exhibition by one of Ireland’s most renowned print makers and leading member of the Royal Ulster Academy…

    Find Out More
  • Ambera Wellmann: UnTurning
    Ambera Wellmann: UnTurning
    Art and Exhibitions

    Ambera Wellmann: UnTurning

    0.86 KM
    09 Jun - 08 Aug 2021

    UnTurning is the first exhibition in the UK & Ireland by Canadian-born and New York-based painter Ambera Wellmann.

    Find Out More
  • Maya Balcioglu
    Maya Balcioglu
    Art and Exhibitions

    Maya Balcioglu

    0.86 KM
    09 Jun - 08 Aug 2021

    An exhibition of work by Balcioglu, which is deliberative and intended for consideration or discussion.

    Find Out More
  • Jaap Pieters: The Eye of Amsterdam
    Jaap Pieters: The Eye of Amsterdam
    Art and Exhibitions

    Jaap Pieters: The Eye of Amsterdam

    0.86 KM
    09 Jun - 08 Aug 2021

    Dutch artist Jaap Pieters is a stalwart specialist of Super 8mm filmmaking. His films will be shown on…

    Find Out More
  • Level 3: Studio Photography
    Level 3: Studio Photography
    Learning Experiences

    Level 3: Studio Photography

    0.6 KM
    09 - 23 Jun 2021

    You will gain knowledge of studio lighting setups and techniques to enable you to take quality studio images…

    Find Out More
  • Level 2: Develop Your Photography Skills
    Level 2: Develop Your Photography Skills
    Learning Experiences

    Level 2: Develop Your Photography Skills

    0.6 KM
    Sat, 12 Jun 2021, 10:00am

    You will learn new camera settings and develop your photography skills, focusing on how to use white balance,…

    Find Out More
  • Across and In-Between by Suzanne Lacy
    Across and In-Between by Suzanne Lacy
    Art and Exhibitions

    Across and In-Between by Suzanne Lacy

    0.97 KM
    12 Jun - 14 Aug 2021

    Golden Thread Gallery is premiering the installation of Suzanne Lacy’s Across and In-Between this summer, presented in association…

    Find Out More
  • Photoshop Basics
    Photoshop Basics
    Learning Experiences

    Photoshop Basics

    0.6 KM
    Sat, 26 Jun 2021, 10:00am

    The course will introduce you to the Photoshop interface and will cover the basic Photoshop features such as…

    Find Out More
Ask Us
Ask Us

We're here to help, so if you can't find the info you're after, or you just want to ask a really odd question, then we're here for you.

Ask A Question
Start
Choose a date
End
Choose a date
Back To Top
In order to display distances relevant to you, we'd like to be able to use your GPS location. Privacy Policy
In order to display distances relevant to your current position, we'd need to be able to use your GPS location. To find out more about how we use your location, please read our Privacy Policy
You have previously denied access to your GPS location. In order to allow access to your location, you need to update your site settings through your browser settings to allow this site access to your location.

To find out more about how we use your location, please read our Privacy Policy
Your settings have been updated. They will take effect next time you refresh the page.
By default, all distances on the site are calculated from Belfast City Centre. You can choose a different starting point here, or specify your own.

If you select a location more than 15km from the Visit Belfast Welcome Centre, your location will be set to Belfast City Centre.

Open 'Ask a Question' window Close 'Ask a Question' window

Ask a Question

X

Hide this tool

Open 'Sign up for Newsletter' window Close 'Sign up for Newsletter' window

Visit Belfast Newsletter

X

Sign up to the Visit Belfast newsletter and receive inspiring ideas, events and offers which showcase the best of Belfast and Northern Ireland.

Sign-Up

Hide this tool