Description

Major exhibition of new work by Belfast based painter, Mark McGreevy.

This exhibition brings together a major new body of work by the Belfast based painter Mark McGreevy. McGreevy’s practice has long been celebrated for offering possible windows into other imaginary worlds and distorted realities, creating visual conundrums that imply quizzical and intimate overviews of imagery and speculative spaces. Flop Sweat, the title of this exhibition of new work, refers to the sudden, heavy perspiration caused by embarrassment, especially by the fear of failing.

Flop Sweat is built on McGreevy’s collected archive of personal and found imagery drawn from the media and everyday experiences. These new paintings play with the unquestioned assumptions of taste, usually landscapes that seemed to have been created by the same innocuous actions and activities that appear in his painted realities. His paintings resolve at the point of the overripe often after revisiting and reworking the same canvas over an extended period. McGreevy’s paintings are purposefully wonky and embedded in the anxiety of the material and the interior world. Depicted in his paintings, spaces of seemingly little value and out of place mass, middens, declivities, dumping sites, and weird islands reveal objects that no longer hold their original meaning, creating a jittery unease.

For more information, please visit https://themaclive.com/exhibition/mark-mcgreevy-flop-sweat

Mon, 19 Aug 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 20 Aug 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 21 Aug 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 22 Aug 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 23 Aug 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 24 Aug 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 26 Aug 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 27 Aug 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 28 Aug 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 29 Aug 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 30 Aug 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 31 Aug 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 01 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 02 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 03 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 04 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 05 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 06 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 07 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 08 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 09 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 10 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 11 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 12 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 13 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 14 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 15 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 16 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 17 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 18 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 19 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 20 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 21 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 22 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 23 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 24 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 25 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 26 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 27 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 28 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 29 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 30 Sep 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 01 Oct 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 02 Oct 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 03 Oct 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 04 Oct 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 05 Oct 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 06 Oct 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 07 Oct 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 08 Oct 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 09 Oct 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 10 Oct 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 11 Oct 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 12 Oct 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 13 Oct 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC

MAC

  • 10 Exchange Street West
  • Belfast
  • Antrim
  • BT1 2NJ

Find Out More
MAC

Upcoming events at MAC

Sister Act
Sister Act
Music and Concerts

Sister Act

03 - 07 Sep 2019

Ravara Productions presents Sister Act, the feel-amazing musical comedy based on the 1992 hit film at the MAC…

Find Out More
James Acaster: Cold Lasagne Hate Myself 1999
James Acaster: Cold Lasagne Hate Myself 1999
Comedy

James Acaster: Cold Lasagne Hate Myself 1999

Sun, 10 Nov 2019, 7:45pm

Comedian James Acaster is back with his brand new show for 2019.

Find Out More
Danilo Correale: They Will Say I Killed Them
Danilo Correale: They Will Say I Killed Them
Films

Danilo Correale: They Will Say I Killed Them

19 Aug - 13 Oct 2019

A major new film commission by Italian artist Danilo Correale.

Find Out More
Rationalism on Set: Glamour and Modernity in 1930s Italian Cinema
Rationalism on Set: Glamour and Modernity in 1930s Italian Cinema
Art and Exhibitions

Rationalism on Set: Glamour and Modernity in 1930s Italian Cinema

19 Aug - 13 Oct 2019

An exhibition exploring a little-known period of Italian cinematic history, highlighting the strong Modernist influence.

Find Out More

You might also like

Ask Us
Ask Us

We're here to help, so if you can't find the info you're after, or you just want to ask a really odd question, then we're here for you.

Ask A Question

Ask a Question

arrow_upwardBack To Top
In order to display distances relevant to you, we'd like to be able to use your GPS location. Privacy Policy
In order to display distances relevant to your current position, we'd need to be able to use your GPS location. To find out more about how we use your location, please read our Privacy Policy
You have previously denied access to your GPS location. In order to allow access to your location, you need to update your site settings through your browser settings to allow this site access to your location.

To find out more about how we use your location, please read our Privacy Policy
Your settings have been updated. They will take effect next time you refresh the page.
By default, all distances on the site are calculated from Belfast City Centre. You can choose a different starting point here, or specify your own.