Description

On Refusal: Representation & Resistance in Contemporary American Art is an exhibition featuring new and recent works by various artists.

Proposing the body as a site of political enquiry, 'On Refusal' explores a return to figuration in the practices of a generation of artists currently working out of the United States, and examines the political impetus for this reinvestment in the body and notions of embodiment as a subject of art in the context of contemporary America.

Specifically, the exhibition highlights the ways in which the six artists featured in the exhibition trouble, and in many ways collapse, historical traditions of bodily representation, and ultimately how – each in very different ways – their works use representations of, or allusions to, the body as a vehicle for thinking through resistance: for imagining other possible futures and other modes for living.

In particular, this exhibition will engage these works within a discourse of ‘refusal’; framed here as both an act of protest and a generative process of renewal. By identifying three dominant visual modes, or artistic strategies – Opacity, Liquidity and Rupture – the exhibition will surface linkages between aesthetic, poetic and political modes of refusal in the work of these artists in an effort to think through their various aesthetic interventions in the present, and visions of the future.

For more information, please visit https://themaclive.com/exhibition/on-refusal-representation-resistance-in-contemporary-american-art

Tue, 19 Nov 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 20 Nov 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 21 Nov 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 22 Nov 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 23 Nov 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 24 Nov 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 25 Nov 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 26 Nov 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 27 Nov 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 28 Nov 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 29 Nov 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 30 Nov 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 01 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 02 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 03 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 04 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 05 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 06 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 07 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 08 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 09 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 10 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 11 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 12 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 13 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 14 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 15 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 16 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 17 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 18 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 19 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 20 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 21 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 22 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 23 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 24 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 27 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 28 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 29 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 30 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 31 Dec 2019 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 01 Jan 2020 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 02 Jan 2020 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 03 Jan 2020 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 04 Jan 2020 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 05 Jan 2020 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 06 Jan 2020 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 07 Jan 2020 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 08 Jan 2020 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 09 Jan 2020 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 10 Jan 2020 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 11 Jan 2020 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 12 Jan 2020 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 13 Jan 2020 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 14 Jan 2020 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 15 Jan 2020 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 16 Jan 2020 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 17 Jan 2020 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 18 Jan 2020 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 19 Jan 2020 11:00am - 5:00pm
location_on MAC

MAC

  • 10 Exchange Street West
  • Belfast
  • Antrim
  • BT1 2NJ

Find Out More
MAC

Upcoming events at MAC

On Refusal: Representation & Resistance in Contemporary American Art
On Refusal: Representation & Resistance in Contemporary American Art
Art and Exhibitions

On Refusal: Representation & Resistance in Contemporary American Art

04 Nov 2019 - 19 Jan 2020

On Refusal: Representation & Resistance in Contemporary American Art is an exhibition featuring new and recent works by…

Find Out More
Baby Wrap
Baby Wrap
Children's Events

Baby Wrap

30 Nov - 01 Dec 2019

Get all wrapped up in Christmas fun with your little one.

Find Out More
Baby Wrappers
Baby Wrappers
Children's Events

Baby Wrappers

30 Nov - 01 Dec 2019

Get all wrapped up in Christmas fun with your little one.

Find Out More
Tinsel Tots
Tinsel Tots
Children's Events

Tinsel Tots

07 - 08 Dec 2019

It's time for Tinsel Tots!

Find Out More

You might also like

Ask Us
Ask Us

We're here to help, so if you can't find the info you're after, or you just want to ask a really odd question, then we're here for you.

Ask A Question

Ask a Question

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
arrow_upwardBack To Top
In order to display distances relevant to you, we'd like to be able to use your GPS location. Privacy Policy
In order to display distances relevant to your current position, we'd need to be able to use your GPS location. To find out more about how we use your location, please read our Privacy Policy
You have previously denied access to your GPS location. In order to allow access to your location, you need to update your site settings through your browser settings to allow this site access to your location.

To find out more about how we use your location, please read our Privacy Policy
Your settings have been updated. They will take effect next time you refresh the page.
By default, all distances on the site are calculated from Belfast City Centre. You can choose a different starting point here, or specify your own.
Open 'Ask a Question' window Close 'Ask a Question' window

Ask a Question

X

Hide this tool

Open 'Sign up for Newsletter' window Close 'Sign up for Newsletter' window

Visit Belfast Newsletter

X

Sign up to the Visit Belfast newsletter and receive inspiring ideas, events and offers which showcase the best of Belfast and Northern Ireland.

Sign-Up

Hide this tool