The Alexandra Graving Dock was built between 1885-89 and is occupied by HMS Caroline, built in Birkenhead in 1914.
The graving dock was where ships would undergo cleaning and repairs, and began construction in 1885. It was named after H.R.H. Princess Alexandra of Wales.
The graving dock's current resident, HMS Caroline, was the lead ship of a class of six light cruisers and is believed to be the only survivor of the infamous Battle of Jutland in 1916. She came to Belfast in 1924 to serve as the headquarters of what is now the Royal Navy Reserve, and was converted at Harland and Wolff for this purpose. Still retaining many of her original features, she is now on the National Historic Ships Register.
HMS Caroline has undergone extensive restoration. Visitors can discover a range of historic spaces including the Captain Crookes Cabin, Royal Marines Mess and Seamen's Wash as well as the very important engine room, sick bay and galley kitchen. Visitors can explore the importance of the Battle of Jutland and discover what life was like at sea for over three hundred crew who served on board. *HMS Caroline is closed for refurbishment and will reopen in 2017.
- Queen's Road
- BT3 9DT
Top Reasons To Visit
- Played a lead role in the 1916 Battle of Jutland
- Last surviving ship of the infamous battle