The White House is closed until further notice. Check back soon for updates.
The building itself dates back to the 1500s but the most famous story associated with it is in 1690 when William of Orange landed at Carrickfergus on 14 June. William's army landed at the ancient quay near the White House and William rode from Carrickfergus where he met with General Schomberg and other people of note.
After falling into disrepair in the 1800s the building was later used as a gospel hall until 1997. At this point it was purchased on behalf of Abbey Historical Society by Ulster Garden Villages and in 2000, the White House Preservation Trust was formed to preserve and restore the building.
The Trust worked tirelessly to attract funding, and as a result The White House has been transformed into a beautiful and informative visitor centre. Through a range of colourful displays including artefacts, images and interactives, you can explore both the past and present of this unique historical site.
Tours are available for groups. All tours must be booked in advance.
Admission is free.