Description

The Land That is, is a video and mixed-media project by Frances Hegarty and Andrew Stones.

Ongoing for over five years, the work considers this land from the artists’ combined personal perspectives, and as a miniature territory in a discussion about “Land/s” in a wider anthropological, cultural and political sense.
For the work, the artists have made video and audio recordings of actions and interventions devised to test the Donegal plot in various ways. Several are based on transits made on foot across the land; some involve primitive tools and items of laboratory and consumer technology, suggestive of a quasi-scientific inquiry.
At the MAC, The Land That takes the form of an immersive, single screen projection in the Upper Gallery, and a suite of smaller, interlinked installations in the Tall Gallery. The large projection has the semi-narrative structure of a short film, with powerful, surround-sound audio. Many features of the film recur in alternative form in the smaller installations, where video sequences are shown alongside materials and objects from the Donegal site.
Among the works in the Tall Gallery is a seven-metre long printout bearing alternative endings to the phrase begun in the project title. Other “conclusions” are proposed in the way the Donegal plot is framed, probed and addressed throughout the work. This multiplicity of responses hints at the difficulty of defining any “Land” today, given the congestion of facts, narratives, and agendas vying for attention.
 
Sat, 25 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 26 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 27 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 28 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 29 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 30 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 31 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 01 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 02 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 03 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 04 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 05 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 06 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 07 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 08 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 09 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 10 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 11 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 12 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 13 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 14 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 15 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 16 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 17 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 18 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 19 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 20 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 21 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 22 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 23 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 24 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 25 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 26 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 27 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 28 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 29 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 30 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 01 Jul 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 02 Jul 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 03 Jul 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 04 Jul 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 05 Jul 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 06 Jul 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC

MAC

The MAC is a cultural hub; selecting, creating and mixing up music, theatre, dance and art.

Find Out More

Upcoming events at MAC

Event

James Acaster: Cold Lasagne Hate Myself 1999

gps_fixed 0.81KM
Sun, 10 Nov

Comedian James Acaster is back with his brand new show for 2019.

Find Out More
Event

Kaz Hawkins

gps_fixed 0.81KM
Sun, 09 Jun

Kaz Hawkins returns to the MAC where she sold out in 2018 with her hard hitting show My Life And I. This time Kaz is bringing new material,...

Find Out More
MAC
MAC
Event

Killymuck

gps_fixed 0.81KM
13-14 Jun

Killymuck is a black comedy based on a fictitious housing estate in N.Ireland.

Find Out More
Event

Rich Hall's Hoedown

gps_fixed 0.81KM
29-30 May

If you’ve only ever watched Rich Hall on TV, you haven’t seen the half of it.

Find Out More


You might also like

  • Event

    A-HA

    gps_fixed 1.29KM
    Wed, 30 Oct

    A-HA are back for their brand new tour, Hunting High And Low.

    Find Out More
  • Event

    Strangford Lough Boat Tour

    gps_fixed 34.68KM
    30 Jun-14 Sep

    Take time away from the fast pace of everyday life and enjoy the magnificent scenery and fascinating wildlife of Strangford Lough on this bo...

    Find Out More
  • Event

    Accidental Comedy Club

    gps_fixed 0.84KM
    Fri, 21 Jun

    Accidental Comedy Club brings you a night of cleverly curated alternative stand-up from some of the most popular names on the comedy scene.

    Find Out More
  • Event

    Beckett Into Music

    gps_fixed 1.03KM
    Thu, 13 Jun

    Celebrate the 50th anniversary of Samuel Beckett winning the Nobel Prize for Literature by immersing yourself in beautiful original composit...

    Find Out More
  • Event

    Mindful Yoga Morning

    gps_fixed 48.09KM
    25 May-28 Sep

    Enjoy a relaxing morning of gentle yoga, home-made refreshments, a fabulous guided nature walk along the Waterfall Trail and a delicious lun...

    Find Out More
  • Event

    Accidental Comedy Club

    gps_fixed 0.84KM
    Fri, 07 Jun

    Accidental Comedy Club brings you a night of cleverly curated alternative stand-up from some of the most popular names on the comedy scene.

    Find Out More
  • Event

    Brainiac Live

    gps_fixed 0.66KM
    24-25 May

    Join Brainiac live at the Waterfront Hall.

    Find Out More
  • SSE Arena, Belfast
    SSE Arena, Belfast
    Event

    The Belfast International Tattoo 2019

    gps_fixed 1.29KM
    06-07 Sep

    Plans for the 2019 Belfast International Tattoo have just been unveiled with bands and performers travelling to the event from four differen...

    Find Out More
  • Royal Portrush Golf Club
    Royal Portrush Golf Club
    Event

    The Open

    gps_fixed 80.75KM
    14 Jul

    The Open makes a historic return to Northern Ireland in 2019. Golf’s oldest and most international Championship returns after 68 years with...

    Find Out More
  • Event

    Sisters in Song

    gps_fixed 0.63KM
    Fri, 14 Jun

    An inside look into the world of songwriting up close and personal.

    Find Out More
Ask Us
Ask Us

We're here to help, so if you can't find the info you're after, or you just want to ask a really odd question, then we're here for you.

Ask A Question
arrow_upwardBack To Top
In order to display distances relevant to you, we'd like to be able to use your GPS location. Privacy Policy
Registered users can create scrapbooks to plan, save and organise ideas and itineraries for a trip to Belfast. Find Out More
In order to display distances relevant to your current position, we'd need to be able to use your GPS location. To find out more about how we use your location, please read our Privacy Policy
You have previously denied access to your GPS location. In order to allow access to your location, you need to update your site settings through your browser settings to allow this site access to your location.

To find out more about how we use your location, please read our Privacy Policy
Your settings have been updated. They will take effect next time you refresh the page.
By default, all distances on the site are calculated from Belfast City Centre. You can choose a different starting point here, or specify your own.