Description

The Land That is, is a video and mixed-media project by Frances Hegarty and Andrew Stones.

Ongoing for over five years, the work considers this land from the artists’ combined personal perspectives, and as a miniature territory in a discussion about “Land/s” in a wider anthropological, cultural and political sense.
For the work, the artists have made video and audio recordings of actions and interventions devised to test the Donegal plot in various ways. Several are based on transits made on foot across the land; some involve primitive tools and items of laboratory and consumer technology, suggestive of a quasi-scientific inquiry.
At the MAC, The Land That takes the form of an immersive, single screen projection in the Upper Gallery, and a suite of smaller, interlinked installations in the Tall Gallery. The large projection has the semi-narrative structure of a short film, with powerful, surround-sound audio. Many features of the film recur in alternative form in the smaller installations, where video sequences are shown alongside materials and objects from the Donegal site.
Among the works in the Tall Gallery is a seven-metre long printout bearing alternative endings to the phrase begun in the project title. Other “conclusions” are proposed in the way the Donegal plot is framed, probed and addressed throughout the work. This multiplicity of responses hints at the difficulty of defining any “Land” today, given the congestion of facts, narratives, and agendas vying for attention.
 
Fri, 19 Apr 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 20 Apr 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 21 Apr 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 22 Apr 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 23 Apr 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 24 Apr 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 25 Apr 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 26 Apr 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 27 Apr 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 28 Apr 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 29 Apr 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 30 Apr 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 01 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 02 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 03 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 04 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 05 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 06 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 07 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 08 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 09 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 10 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 11 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 12 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 13 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 14 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 15 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 16 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 17 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 18 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 19 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 20 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 21 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 22 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 23 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 24 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 25 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 26 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 27 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 28 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 29 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 30 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 31 May 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 01 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 02 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 03 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 04 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 05 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 06 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 07 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 08 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 09 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 10 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 11 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 12 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 13 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 14 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 15 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 16 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 17 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 18 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 19 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 20 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 21 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 22 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 23 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 24 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 25 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 26 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 27 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 28 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 29 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sun, 30 Jun 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Mon, 01 Jul 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Tue, 02 Jul 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Wed, 03 Jul 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Thu, 04 Jul 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Fri, 05 Jul 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC
Sat, 06 Jul 2019
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on MAC

MAC

The MAC is a cultural hub; selecting, creating and mixing up music, theatre, dance and art.

Find Out More

Upcoming events at MAC

Event

James Acaster: Cold Lasagne Hate Myself 1999

gps_fixed 0.81KM
Sun, 10 Nov

Comedian James Acaster is back with his brand new show for 2019.

Find Out More
Event

BILLY

gps_fixed 0.81KM
16-18 May

Life is messy. BILLY has a multi-purpose, reasonably-priced, space-saving solution.

Find Out More
Event

Christine Bovill PIAF

gps_fixed 0.81KM
Fri, 17 May

Nothing but a voice, singing of life’s triumphs and tragedies. 

Find Out More
Event

Fallen Fruit

gps_fixed 0.81KM
Sat, 11 May

A story of love, breaking free and Europe, from Two Destination Language.

Find Out More


You might also like

Ask Us
Ask Us

We're here to help, so if you can't find the info you're after, or you just want to ask a really odd question, then we're here for you.

Ask A Question
arrow_upwardBack To Top
In order to display distances relevant to you, we'd like to be able to use your GPS location. Privacy Policy
Registered users can create scrapbooks to plan, save and organise ideas and itineraries for a trip to Belfast. Find Out More
In order to display distances relevant to your current position, we'd need to be able to use your GPS location. To find out more about how we use your location, please read our Privacy Policy
You have previously denied access to your GPS location. In order to allow access to your location, you need to update your site settings through your browser settings to allow this site access to your location.

To find out more about how we use your location, please read our Privacy Policy
Your settings have been updated. They will take effect next time you refresh the page.
By default, all distances on the site are calculated from Belfast City Centre. You can choose a different starting point here, or specify your own.