Description

In 2019, visitors to the Ulster Museum will be able to view some of Leonardo da Vinci's greatest drawings.

An exhibition which will provide an unparalleled insight into the workings of the artist's mind, 'Leonardo da Vinci: A Life in Drawing' is part of a nationwide event organised by Royal Collection Trust to mark 500 years since the Renaissance master's death. In total, 144 of Leonardo's drawings will go on display in 12 simultaneous exhibitions across the UK, in an initiative designed to give the widest-ever UK audience the opportunity to see the work of this extraordinary artist.
The Ulster Museum's exhibition will include two of Leonardo's most famous works – The Head of St Anne, made around 1510 in preparation for his famous masterpiece The Virgin and Child with St Anne, which hangs in the Louvre, and an anatomical drawing from 1489, The Skull Sectioned.
The exhibition will include examples of all the drawing materials employed by the artist, including pen and ink, red and black chalks, watercolour and metalpoint.
Leonardo da Vinci: A Life in Drawing will run at the Ulster Museum from 1 February until 6 May 2019 and will be be accompanied by a series of events including special tours, lectures, art sessions and sketching workshops. Admission to the exhibition will be free.
In May 2019, following the exhibitions at Royal Collection Trust's partner venues, the drawings will be brought together to form part of an exhibition of over 200 sheets at The Queen's Gallery, Buckingham Palace, the largest exhibition of Leonardo's work in over 65 years.
Image credit: Leonardo da Vinci, The skull sectioned, 1489. Royal Collection Trust/© Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II 2018
Fri, 01 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sat, 02 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sun, 03 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Tue, 05 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Wed, 06 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Thu, 07 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Fri, 08 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sat, 09 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sun, 10 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Tue, 12 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Wed, 13 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Thu, 14 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Fri, 15 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sat, 16 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sun, 17 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Tue, 19 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Wed, 20 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Thu, 21 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Fri, 22 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sat, 23 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sun, 24 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Tue, 26 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Wed, 27 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Thu, 28 Feb 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Fri, 01 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sat, 02 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sun, 03 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Tue, 05 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Wed, 06 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Thu, 07 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Fri, 08 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sat, 09 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sun, 10 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Tue, 12 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Wed, 13 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Thu, 14 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Fri, 15 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sat, 16 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sun, 17 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Tue, 19 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Wed, 20 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Thu, 21 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Fri, 22 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sat, 23 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sun, 24 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Tue, 26 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Wed, 27 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Thu, 28 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Fri, 29 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sat, 30 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sun, 31 Mar 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Tue, 02 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Wed, 03 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Thu, 04 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Fri, 05 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sat, 06 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sun, 07 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Tue, 09 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Wed, 10 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Thu, 11 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Fri, 12 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sat, 13 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sun, 14 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Tue, 16 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Wed, 17 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Thu, 18 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Fri, 19 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sat, 20 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sun, 21 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Tue, 23 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Wed, 24 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Thu, 25 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Fri, 26 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sat, 27 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sun, 28 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Tue, 30 Apr 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Wed, 01 May 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Thu, 02 May 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Fri, 03 May 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sat, 04 May 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum
Sun, 05 May 2019
10:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Ulster Museum

Ulster Museum

Come face to face with dinosaurs, meet an ancient Egyptian mummy and see modern masterpieces with a visit to the Ulster Museum.

Find Out More

Upcoming events at Ulster Museum

Event

Da Vinci Day

gps_fixed 1.65KM
Sun, 10 Mar

Take part in a range of free children's art workshops inspired by the Royal Collection Trust exhibition 'Leonardo da Vinci: A Life in Drawin...

Find Out More


You might also like

  • Event

    Ulster Grand Prix 2019

    gps_fixed 13.83KM
    05-10 Aug

    The Ulster Grand Prix returns in August 2019 with a number of fast paced exciting races.

    Find Out More
  • Event

    Leningrad!

    gps_fixed 0.25KM
    Fri, 22 Mar

    Experience a night of music at the Ulster Hall this spring.

    Find Out More
  • SSE Arena, Belfast
    SSE Arena, Belfast
    Event

    Mrs Brown’s Boys D’Musical

    gps_fixed 1.29KM
    22-24 Nov

    The Award Winning Brendan O’Carroll and Mrs. Brown’s Boys invite you to their brand new production “Mrs. Brown’s Boys D’Musical?” coming to...

    Find Out More
  • Event

    Milo’s Hat Trick

    gps_fixed 0.81KM
    08-10 Mar

    Young audiences can expect magic, music and mischief in this delightful adventure from the multi-award winning Cahoots NI, based on the book...

    Find Out More
  • Event

    Cotton Fingers

    gps_fixed 0.81KM
    22-23 Mar

    A smart, funny young Northern Irish woman has a big decision to make about her future.

    Find Out More
  • Event

    JN Wine Tasting

    gps_fixed 0.22KM
    17 Jan-17 May

    Jane Boyce, Master of wine, will give you some tips and advice as she guides you through 6 wines specially selected from the JN range.

    Find Out More
  • Event

    The Wood Burning Savages

    gps_fixed 11.72KM
    Fri, 08 Feb

    The Wood Burning Savages is a fast-paced punk rock band from Derry.

    Find Out More
  • Belfast Empire
    Belfast Empire
    Event

    Kneecap

    gps_fixed 0.94KM
    Thu, 28 Feb

    West Belfast’s finest Bi-lingual B-Boys will be playing their biggest headline show to date in the hallowed Empire Music Hall.

    Find Out More
  • Event

    My Sweetheart And Me

    gps_fixed 11.72KM
    21-22 Feb

    Introducing the sensational stage musical that is “My Sweetheart and Me”.

    Find Out More
  • Event

    Hayseed Dixie

    gps_fixed 0.94KM
    Sat, 02 Mar

    Always bringing an amazing performance, Hayseed Dixie are back at one of their favourite stomping grounds, The Empire Music Hall.

    Find Out More
Ask Us
Ask Us

We're here to help, so if you can't find the info you're after, or you just want to ask a really odd question, then we're here for you.

Ask A Question
arrow_upwardBack To Top
In order to display distances relevant to you, we'd like to be able to use your GPS location. Privacy Policy
Your settings have been updated. They will take effect next time you refresh the page.
Amend your settings for how distances are calculated.