Description

Museum of the Moon is a new touring sculpture artwork by UK artist Luke Jerram.

Measuring seven metres in diameter, the moon features 120dpi detailed NASA imagery of the lunar surface. At an approximate scale of 1:500,000, each centimetre of the internally lit spherical sculpture represents 5km of the moon's surface.
Over its lifetime, the Museum of the Moon will be presented in a number of different ways both indoors and outdoors, so altering the experience and interpretation of the artwork. As it travels from place to place, it will gather new musical compositions and an ongoing collection of personal responses, stories and mythologies, as well as highlighting the latest moon science.
The installation is a fusion of lunar imagery, moonlight and surround sound composition created by BAFTA and Ivor Novello award winning composer Dan Jones. Each venue also programmes their own series lunar inspired events beneath the moon.
Luke Jerram's multidisciplinary practice involves the creation of sculptures, installations and live arts projects. Living in the UK but working internationally for 19 years, Jerram has created a number of extraordinary art projects which have excited and inspired people around the globe. Jerram has a set of different narratives that make up his practice which are developing in parallel with one another. He is known worldwide for his large scale public artworks.
This installation is free to view with admission to W5.
To book your tickets to W5 online, please visit www.w5online.com
Tickets & Pricing
  • Adult £9.80
  • Concession £8.10
  • Child £7.50
Sat, 10 Feb 2018
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on W5 at Odyssey
Sun, 11 Feb 2018
12:00pm to 6:00pm
location_on W5 at Odyssey
Mon, 12 Feb 2018
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on W5 at Odyssey
Tue, 13 Feb 2018
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on W5 at Odyssey
Wed, 14 Feb 2018
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on W5 at Odyssey
Thu, 15 Feb 2018
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on W5 at Odyssey
Fri, 16 Feb 2018
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on W5 at Odyssey
Sat, 17 Feb 2018
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on W5 at Odyssey
Sun, 18 Feb 2018
12:00pm to 6:00pm
location_on W5 at Odyssey
Mon, 19 Feb 2018
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on W5 at Odyssey
Tue, 20 Feb 2018
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on W5 at Odyssey
Wed, 21 Feb 2018
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on W5 at Odyssey
Thu, 22 Feb 2018
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on W5 at Odyssey
Fri, 23 Feb 2018
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on W5 at Odyssey
Sat, 24 Feb 2018
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on W5 at Odyssey
Sun, 25 Feb 2018
12:00pm to 6:00pm
location_on W5 at Odyssey
Mon, 26 Feb 2018
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on W5 at Odyssey
Tue, 27 Feb 2018
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on W5 at Odyssey
Wed, 28 Feb 2018
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on W5 at Odyssey
Thu, 01 Mar 2018
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on W5 at Odyssey
Fri, 02 Mar 2018
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on W5 at Odyssey
Sat, 03 Mar 2018
10:00am to 6:00pm
location_on W5 at Odyssey
Sun, 04 Mar 2018
12:00pm to 6:00pm
location_on W5 at Odyssey

W5 at Odyssey

Ireland's award-winning science and discovery centre based at the Odyssey Complex in Belfast's thriving Titanic Quarter.

Find Out More

Upcoming events at W5 at Odyssey

02 Jul-20 Aug

Bright Sparks Summer Camp

Calling all budding scientists! Bright Sparks is W5’s unique and exciting week-long summer camp for inquisitive young minds aged 8 to 11.

Find Out More
14 Apr-27 May

Dino Snappers Workshop

Travel back in time this spring and create your very own prehistoric predator at W5.

Find Out More
arrow_upwardBack To Top
Ask Us
Ask Us

We're here to help, so if you can't find the info you're after, or you just want to ask a really odd question, then we're here for you.

Ask A Question