Description

Portrait of a Century is a visual time capsule made up of people who are threaded together through a shared language, culture and nationhood.

Each image in the series represents the birth year of the sitter and spans a hundred-year time-period from 1916 to 2015.
Created over two years from 2015 on, photographer Kim Haughton found her sitters in London, New York, Los Angeles, Philadelphia and across the Island of Ireland. Beyond the colour of their skin or the texture of their clothing, many of the portraits reveal something deeper than just the people in them. Exploring themes of nationhood, identity and time, the work is a photographic representation of a nation reflected in those who have shaped it in some way.
Kim Haughton completed her MA at London University of Arts. From Dublin, she was named as an Irish photographer to watch in 2015 by TIME magazine who described her work as 'at once sparse and textured'. She spent the early part of her career as a photojournalist covering post-conflict humanitarian issues around the globe. Her work has been exhibited in London, New York and at the Gallery of Photography and Solomon Fine Art Gallery in Dublin. Her pictures appear in publications worldwide including The Financial Times, Der Spiegel and Vanity Fair. Portrait of a Century is her first monograph.
Please note that the exhibition will be closed on Sundays.
Thu, 08 Mar 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Fri, 09 Mar 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Sat, 10 Mar 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Mon, 12 Mar 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Tue, 13 Mar 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Wed, 14 Mar 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Thu, 15 Mar 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Fri, 16 Mar 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Sat, 17 Mar 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Mon, 19 Mar 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Tue, 20 Mar 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Wed, 21 Mar 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Thu, 22 Mar 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Fri, 23 Mar 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Sat, 24 Mar 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Mon, 26 Mar 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Tue, 27 Mar 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Wed, 28 Mar 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Thu, 29 Mar 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Fri, 30 Mar 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Sat, 31 Mar 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Mon, 02 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Tue, 03 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Wed, 04 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Thu, 05 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Fri, 06 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Sat, 07 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Mon, 09 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Tue, 10 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Wed, 11 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Thu, 12 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Fri, 13 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Sat, 14 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Mon, 16 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Tue, 17 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Wed, 18 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Thu, 19 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Fri, 20 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Sat, 21 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Mon, 23 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Tue, 24 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Wed, 25 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Thu, 26 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Fri, 27 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Sat, 28 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Mon, 30 Apr 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Tue, 01 May 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Wed, 02 May 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Thu, 03 May 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Fri, 04 May 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre
Sat, 05 May 2018
9:00am to 5:00pm
location_on Market Place Theatre


You might also like

Ask Us
Ask Us

We're here to help, so if you can't find the info you're after, or you just want to ask a really odd question, then we're here for you.

Ask A Question
arrow_upwardBack To Top
In order to display distances relevant to you, we'd like to be able to use your GPS location. Privacy Policy
Your settings have been updated. They will take effect next time you refresh the page.
Amend your settings for how distances are calculated.