Description

St Georges Market is at the beating heart of Belfast, and with its vibrant atmosphere and daily music performers, it is a popular weekend destination for locals and tourists alike.

It is the last covered Victorian Market in the city and one of the very few left on the island of Ireland. It is a Variety Market with more than 100 traders on all three days selling fresh local fruit and vegetables, fresh fish, local arts and crafts, home-baked produce, confectionery, antiques, clothing and hardware amongst other things. It also has several traders selling food prepared and cooked in the Market with something to suit all palates, from a simple crepe to the famous Belfast Bap available to eat on the premises. It was voted the Best Indoor Market in the UK in 2023, ahead of over 20 other such markets. It is open 3 days per week, Friday (8am-2pm), Saturday (9am-3pm) and Sunday (9pm-2pm).

The Tour gives guests a background to the history of Markets in Belfast going back to the 17th century, and to the evolution of the Markets area of Belfast where St George’s Market is based. You will learn about the establishment of the St Georges Market building itself, originally in the 1890s when it was built and its renovation some 100 years later after being saved from extinction. You will learn about the people behind the building and renovations and the background to its architecture which you can then view from the outside of the building during the tour. You will also learn abouts the Market’s use as a Morgue during World War II and the various alternative functions that the premises can be used for. Lastly your walking tour will allow you to interact with several of the traders on the floor who will share their Market journey with you (subject to market trading conditions and availability).

This Walking Tour, in association with Belfast City Council, is carried out by fully qualified Tour Guides, affiliated with Tour Guides NI (TGNI). All guests are audio-linked to the Tour Guide for the duration of the Tour. All Tours are delivered in English only.

2 tours a day: Friday 10am and 12 noon; Saturday/Sunday 11am and 1pm. Pre-booking essential. All tours commence at the Main Portico Entrance, Oxford Street, Belfast.

Find out more>>

Tickets & Pricing
  • Admission £5 - £10
Sat, 13 Jul 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 14 Jul 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 19 Jul 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 20 Jul 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 21 Jul 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 26 Jul 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 27 Jul 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 28 Jul 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 02 Aug 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 03 Aug 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 04 Aug 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 09 Aug 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 10 Aug 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 11 Aug 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 16 Aug 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 17 Aug 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 18 Aug 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 23 Aug 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 24 Aug 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 25 Aug 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 30 Aug 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 31 Aug 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 01 Sep 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 06 Sep 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 07 Sep 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 08 Sep 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 13 Sep 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 14 Sep 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 15 Sep 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 20 Sep 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 21 Sep 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 22 Sep 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 27 Sep 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 28 Sep 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 29 Sep 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 04 Oct 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 05 Oct 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 06 Oct 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 11 Oct 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 12 Oct 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 13 Oct 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 18 Oct 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 19 Oct 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 20 Oct 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 25 Oct 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 26 Oct 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 27 Oct 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 01 Nov 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 02 Nov 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 03 Nov 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 08 Nov 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 09 Nov 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 10 Nov 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 15 Nov 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 16 Nov 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 17 Nov 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 22 Nov 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 23 Nov 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 24 Nov 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 29 Nov 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 30 Nov 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 01 Dec 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 06 Dec 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 07 Dec 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 08 Dec 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 13 Dec 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 14 Dec 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 15 Dec 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 20 Dec 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 21 Dec 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 22 Dec 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 27 Dec 2024 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 28 Dec 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 29 Dec 2024 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 03 Jan 2025 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 04 Jan 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 05 Jan 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 10 Jan 2025 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 11 Jan 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 12 Jan 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 17 Jan 2025 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 18 Jan 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 19 Jan 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 24 Jan 2025 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 25 Jan 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 26 Jan 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 31 Jan 2025 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 01 Feb 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 02 Feb 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 07 Feb 2025 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 08 Feb 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 09 Feb 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 14 Feb 2025 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 15 Feb 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 16 Feb 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 21 Feb 2025 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 22 Feb 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 23 Feb 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 28 Feb 2025 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 01 Mar 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 02 Mar 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 07 Mar 2025 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 08 Mar 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 09 Mar 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 14 Mar 2025 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 15 Mar 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 16 Mar 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 21 Mar 2025 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 22 Mar 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 23 Mar 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 28 Mar 2025 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 29 Mar 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 30 Mar 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 04 Apr 2025 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 05 Apr 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 06 Apr 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 11 Apr 2025 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 12 Apr 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 13 Apr 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 18 Apr 2025 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 19 Apr 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Fri, 25 Apr 2025 10:00am - 1:00pm
Sat, 26 Apr 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm
Sun, 27 Apr 2025 11:00am - 2:00pm

St George's Market

  • 12-20 East Bridge Street
  • Belfast
  • Antrim
  • BT1 3NQ

Find Out More
St George's Market 24 medium

About The Host

Tour Guides NI

  • c/o Visit Belfast Welcome Centre
  • 9 Donegall Square North
  • Belfast
  • Antrim
  • BT1 5GB

Find Out More
Tour Guides NI

Upcoming events at St George’s Market

St George’s Market Walking Tour
St George’s Market Walking Tour
Tours

St George’s Market Walking Tour

0.82 KM
14 Jul 2024 - 27 Apr 2025

This guided walking tour gives you a background to markets in Belfast, the Market area of Belfast, the…

Find Out More

You might also like

Ask Us
Ask Us

We're here to help, so if you can't find the info you're after, or you just want to ask a really odd question, then we're here for you.

Ask A Question

Ask a Question

"*" indicates required fields

Start
Choose a date
End
Choose a date
Back To Top
In order to display distances relevant to you, we'd like to be able to use your GPS location. Privacy Policy
In order to display distances relevant to your current position, we'd need to be able to use your GPS location. To find out more about how we use your location, please read our Privacy Policy
You have previously denied access to your GPS location. In order to allow access to your location, you need to update your site settings through your browser settings to allow this site access to your location.

To find out more about how we use your location, please read our Privacy Policy
Your settings have been updated. They will take effect next time you refresh the page.
By default, all distances on the site are calculated from Belfast City Centre. You can choose a different starting point here, or specify your own.

If you select a location more than 15km from the Visit Belfast Welcome Centre, your location will be set to Belfast City Centre.

Open 'Ask a Question' window Close 'Ask a Question' window

Ask a Question

X

"*" indicates required fields

Hide this tool

Open 'Sign up for Newsletter' window Close 'Sign up for Newsletter' window

Visit Belfast Newsletter

X

Sign up to the Visit Belfast newsletter and receive inspiring ideas, events and offers which showcase the best of Belfast and Northern Ireland.

Sign-Up

Hide this tool