Description

A major art exhibition exploring the travels of Sir John Lavery, Belfast’s best-known painter, organised in collaboration with the National Gallery of Ireland and National Galleries of Scotland

Born in Belfast, Lavery was an internationally renowned Irish painter and never travelled for business or pleasure without his painting kit. This exhibition delves into Lavery's impressions of the people and places that he encountered during a life filled with travel.

Lavery On Location explores some of the key destinations in Lavery’s art, from Morocco and Palm Springs to Lough Derg in County Donegal. The exhibition includes studies of Switzerland, France, Ireland and North Africa, as well as evocative cityscapes of Glasgow, Venice, Cannes and New York. Such was the richness and variety of Lavery's work, that Winston Churchill described his artistic mentor as a 'plein-airiste (an outdoor painter) if ever there was one' and he is the only Irishman to receive the Freedom of both Dublin and Belfast.

The exhibition includes over 70 works, many from private collections, and offers a rare opportunity to discover more about this captivating and less well-known area of Lavery’s career.

This is a charging exhibition which requires tickets. Book your tickets through the www.ulstermuseum.org website

Image credit: Under the Cherry Tree, Sir John Lavery, 1856-1941, Courtesy of National Museums NI, Ulster Museum Collection.

Find out more>>

Tickets & Pricing
  • Adult Admission £6
  • Child Admission £5.65
  • Student/Senior Admission £4.70
Sun, 14 Apr 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 16 Apr 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 17 Apr 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 18 Apr 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 19 Apr 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 20 Apr 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 21 Apr 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 23 Apr 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 24 Apr 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 25 Apr 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 26 Apr 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 27 Apr 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 28 Apr 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 30 Apr 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 01 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 02 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 03 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 04 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 05 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 07 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 08 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 09 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 10 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 11 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 12 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 14 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 15 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 16 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 17 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 18 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 19 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 21 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 22 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 23 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 24 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 25 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 26 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 28 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 29 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 30 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 31 May 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 01 Jun 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 02 Jun 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Tue, 04 Jun 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Wed, 05 Jun 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thu, 06 Jun 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Fri, 07 Jun 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sat, 08 Jun 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sun, 09 Jun 2024 10:00am - 5:00pm

Ulster Museum

  • Botanic Gardens
  • Belfast
  • Antrim
  • BT9 5AB

Find Out More
Ulster Museum VB 4

Upcoming events at Ulster Museum

Kelpra: Artists and Printmakers
Kelpra: Artists and Printmakers
Art and Exhibitions

Kelpra: Artists and Printmakers

1.73 KM
14 - 28 Apr 2024

A selection of prints created at the innovative Kelpra Studio, London, taken from both Ulster Museum collection and…

Find Out More
Lavery On Location
Lavery On Location
Art and Exhibitions

Lavery On Location

1.73 KM
14 Apr - 09 Jun 2024

A major art exhibition exploring the travels of Sir John Lavery, Belfast’s best-known painter.

Find Out More
Superworm (Film) | Earth Day 2024
Superworm (Film) | Earth Day 2024
NI Science Festival Children's Events

Superworm (Film) | Earth Day 2024

1.73 KM
Sun, 21 Apr 2024, 10:30am

Join NI Science Festival as they celebrate Earth Day 2024 including film screenings and additional pop up activities…

Find Out More
Puffin Rock & The New Friends (Film) | Earth Day 2024
Puffin Rock & The New Friends (Film) | Earth Day 2024
NI Science Festival Children's Events

Puffin Rock & The New Friends (Film) | Earth Day 2024

1.73 KM
Sun, 21 Apr 2024, 2:00pm

Join NI Science Festival as they celebrate Earth Day 2024 including film screenings and additional pop up activities…

Find Out More

You might also like

Ask Us
Ask Us

We're here to help, so if you can't find the info you're after, or you just want to ask a really odd question, then we're here for you.

Ask A Question

Ask a Question

"*" indicates required fields

Start
Choose a date
End
Choose a date
Back To Top
In order to display distances relevant to you, we'd like to be able to use your GPS location. Privacy Policy
In order to display distances relevant to your current position, we'd need to be able to use your GPS location. To find out more about how we use your location, please read our Privacy Policy
You have previously denied access to your GPS location. In order to allow access to your location, you need to update your site settings through your browser settings to allow this site access to your location.

To find out more about how we use your location, please read our Privacy Policy
Your settings have been updated. They will take effect next time you refresh the page.
By default, all distances on the site are calculated from Belfast City Centre. You can choose a different starting point here, or specify your own.

If you select a location more than 15km from the Visit Belfast Welcome Centre, your location will be set to Belfast City Centre.

Open 'Ask a Question' window Close 'Ask a Question' window

Ask a Question

X

"*" indicates required fields

Hide this tool

Open 'Sign up for Newsletter' window Close 'Sign up for Newsletter' window

Visit Belfast Newsletter

X

Sign up to the Visit Belfast newsletter and receive inspiring ideas, events and offers which showcase the best of Belfast and Northern Ireland.

Sign-Up

Hide this tool